(2) Kickstarting With The Keyboard

Before reading (2) Kickstarting With The Keyboard, please read (1) Getting Back On Track.
That meeting with XRCVC culminated into a merely cheerier me, but more than that, a set of revitalized mother and father. I unmistakably remember the last exchange of that day too. “What shall be the fees for the training?” my father had asked. The candid reply from Mrs. Neha Trivedi, the Project Counsellor of XRCVC, had been that the training fees would be ‘guaranteeing Bhavya’s independence’.

I was to begin with procuring computer training from Mrs. Calveena D’Sylva, the Special Educator at XRCVC, for which I was unquestionably excited. It is a prerequisite to be able to speak and understand basic English in order to follow the speech of a screen reading software, and thus English fluency is taught prior to the initiation of computer training. In my case however, my education in an English medium CBSE school enabled me to skip the same. Touch typing, keyboard shortcut memorization, screen reading and much more was what I was to grapple with yet always eventually surmount in coming times.
My first instruction started with practising the keyboard. I had the three rows of alphabet keys in order by heart, but previously, I could never press them without counting key by key to them from the leftmost ‘q’, ‘a’ and ‘z’ – an invariably inept technique. Calveena Ma’am began with me from absolute scratch. I was made to touch the distinguishable tactile markings on the ‘f’ and ‘j’ keys which are universally present on every computer keyboard, and told to place my left hand’s index finger and right hand’s index finger on the two keys respectively. Those two keys would serve as my initial reference points on the keyboard, relative to which all other keys, their location and their distance was to be judged. I made sense that the ‘g’ and ‘h’ keys were between ‘f’ and ‘j’, so they posed no challenge. In fact, most alphabet keys seemed easily reachable from my vantage point. But no, my then shorter fingers took some time to speedily ascertain the placement of alphabet keys such as ‘q’, ‘w’, ‘p’, ‘z’, ‘x’ and ‘m’ due to them being present in the remote corners of the alphabetic part of the keyboard, and went slow in the progression to the number row and other special keys.
Whilst I was thoroughly enjoying messing with the keyboard, what absorbed me further was a self-voicing application that Calveena Ma’am familiarized me with – Talking Typing Teacher by MarvelSoft. TTT’s comprehensive character typing lessons, word typing lessons and sentence typing lessons however didn’t catch my interest as much as its intriguing typing speed test and typing games did. From the typical ‘Guess The Number’ to a 1 minute speedtyping assessment, I experienced those elements of fun-filled competition with my own self in conjunction with simultaneous learning. After a long time had my eleven-year-old self found something worthwhile to do, and it was just time and practice that separated my then 8-10 WPM (words per minute) typing speed to evolve into 100+ WPM, speeds which I can consistently attain today.

Author: Bhavya Shah

Bhavya is a fifteen year old philosophical techie from Mumbai, Maharashtra, India. Being passionate about STEM and ICT, global politics and MUN conferences, humanitarean and disability rights, he enjoys singing in accompaniment with his flute or guitar, reading novel literature and perusing the Internet. The only trait distinguishing him from the crowd is his inability to see - starkly/simply put; blindness.

2 thoughts on “(2) Kickstarting With The Keyboard”

  1. a great typing experience should not have to encompass more than one extremity (or finger). less is better. I never got past two typing fingers until my life depended on it. now I wonder whether the handicapped or those that lost most of their fingers can say that typing on a QWERTY keyboard layout is not a daily frustrating experience.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I utilize all my five fingers of both hands for the most efficient and quick reach to any and all keys of my keyboard, and I believe most touch typists prefer making use of them all too to increase rapidity. Personally speaking, I only have a visual impairment and thus since my hands, and my body as a whole, is otherwise whole and intact, blind screen reader users use both hands and all five fingers for the most part. For those with lesser fingers or with dexterity problems, you may want to look up an accessibility feature known as Sticky Keys for Windows which helps alleviate this problem somewhat for said group of users.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

